Death of the Golden Ticket Wonka Bar

Okay, so I’m going to mix things up a bit here.  I’m going to post a poem.

You might recognize the format of this poem.  In fact, I hope you do.  It’s based off one of the best poems I’ve ever read, “The Death of the Ball Turret Gunner” by Randall Jarrell.  If you haven’t read it, go read it (it’s very short but powerful), then come back and read my piece.  It’s definitely parody.  I wrote it for one of my college poetry classes– an assignment called for writing a piece based on another work of art.  I decided to base mine on that poem and on Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, dwelling on how insignificant the chocolate bar is that was wrapped in a golden ticket.

So, I give you “Death of the Golden Ticket Wonka Bar”:Image

From my factory’s clamor I fell into the store,

And I sat on a shelf with a secret golden wrapper.

Fifty-cent purchase, ripped open with exclaimed delight,

I woke to being cast aside in favor of shiny paper.

When I melted I was washed off the sidewalk with a hose.

Published in: on May 14, 2014 at 10:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://partisobscurum.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/death-of-the-golden-ticket-wonka-bar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

